Pre-Opt to Blackout

For anyone who is aware and and participating in the Pre Opt to Blackout, I propose the following:

My understanding is that the focus of the boycott is to conduct business with only black/African owned/operated companies through the Labor Day weekend, in order to let your voices be heard about the injustices of the deaths of Michael Brown, Trayvon Martin, Renisha McBride, and many others who have lost their lives to the hand of a white man.

I couldn’t agree more that these losses are very tragic, and your voices should be heard.

My question is, how do you think your voices will be heard by this boycott?

You say that it will hit the government’s wallet with a swift slap, and you hope it hits hard. I would also love to see that happen. But, this will not only hurt the government. This will hurt those other people around you, that are supporting your black/African owned businesses along side of you.

How is this boycott going to change what has happened?

If you are in agreement with this boycott, does this mean you are opposed to other races? If so, are you opposed to all other races?

I’ve been passing this back and forth in my mind for several days. I may even regret posting this down the road. At this point, I don’t care. I have been sitting back and observing the chatter. Yet, I am not a troll or imposture. I am a human being who cannot sit back any longer, biting my tongue.

I would really like to see some commentary here on my post. With all due respect, please keep it civil.

‪#‎PreOptBlackout‬ ‪#‎POB‬

Leave a Reply

